mewickham
NWAAS President

September 2010 Meeting: "Livebearers in My Fishroom"

Post by mewickham »

Livebearers in My Fishroom
Speaker: Allen Wood
Chairman of the American Livebearer Association

Saturday, September 11, 2010, 7:00 PM
Come at 6:30 PM to meet with other hobbyists!
This should be a great talk! Allen is a recognized expert on livebearers and chairman of the American Livebearer Association. Come learn about livebearing fishes, especially species that you don't usually get to see in your home aquarium.

As always there will be refreshments, door prizes, and a mini auction.

Click HERE to download a printable poster that you can distribute. Help our club make this a great event!

Here is Allen's bio in his own words:

"I have been keeping small fish in glass boxes for over 55 years. Like many, I started with a pair of fancy guppies. Today, we would call fish of that type “feeder” guppies. Over the years, I have kept many species of fish and bred over 200 species. When I retired, I decided to specialize in some group of fish that would be a good fit in my fishroom and with our plans for retirement. Livebearer fish of the families Goodeidae and Poeciliidae seemed to be best suited. I had long kept some livebearers and was well acquainted with their needs. Currently, about 100 species reside in my tanks. My passion is maintaining fish threatened in their natural habitat or very rare in the hobby. As a result, I keep only wild-type fish."

"My fishroom has grown from that first gallon jar with a pair of guppies to about 150 tanks of various sized today with a total capacity of about 4500 gallons. I have automated many functions of the fishroom so that I do not spend my life sucking on a siphon hose or carrying buckets of water.