Hello from Rogers, Ar

Tell us about yourself! Find tips on using our forum.
robertshear

Hello from Rogers, Ar

Post by robertshear »

Hello! I posted a something in the March meeting topic before i found this topic. I am new to this and know nothing, except what i learned over the last couple days. My wife always says i need to find a hobby and i think i found one i will enjoy. I am currently in the process of finding a tank and think i found a 125 gallon that i like. I know it is a trial by error process in the beginning, but with your help i hope it is a very short process.

I have lived in NW Ar for almost two years now. I am from Chicago, but joined the Marine Corps and ended up in California, then Washington D.C, and North Carolina. I met my wife in DC and will have been married for four years in April. When i was in Iraq, my wife moved here and got a good job with Johnson & Johnson, so i had no choice but to move here when i got out. I worked at the Benton County Jail for a year, then decided i needed to go back to school. My wife and i bought our first house in Rogers in october 2007. I currently attend NWAAC full time. Thankfully i have a great wife who supports my decision to go back to school.

Now back to the fish! I want to make a reef tank with fish but dont want to spend a million dollars, so if anybody has anything for sale at a decent price, let me know. Here is the tank i am hopefully going to get saturday---> http://tulsa.craigslist.org/for/1051693966.html. I know its big, but go big or go home right? :shock: I dont know if this stuff will do for what i want, but It says it comes with this:
VHO lighting system
DAS filtration system
over 100 pounds live rock

From what i learned over the last few days, i dont know if i need it, but i think i will need this stuff:
r/o filter thing??? (so i dont have to buy water from the store??? remember i dont know anything)
refugium/sump tank(will need help with plans, and what i need exactly)